Soundfonts or Trackers?

maybe you mean sequencers vs. trackers?

Yes. To be quite honest, even though I have fooled around with remixing for about a year now I never accually really commited to it until about 3 weeks ago. So I am still new to the terms.

But all I know is that this whole fooled around with year was being used with Trackers and their tutorials. I made no progess, I moved to Sequencers and I see progress every day.

While it is possible to use soundfonts in Modplug, this feature is not stable. I couldn't make some of the fonts work properly, so I had to rip the samples. I think when the module size reaches 300 Mb or so, the soundfont support gets messed up.

soundfont support in Modplug is terrible. I used thought soundfonts were utter crap. Then I tried using them in FL. whoa, now that's different...

• 3 weeks later...

Most composers have left trackers. There aren't many trackers in development today.

Hehe.. quite the opposite. Though there's a lot of dead projects. The tracker scene is still alive and kicking..

In the late 90's you either used ft2 or it2. Nowadays you're spoiled for choice: aodix, berotracker, buzz, madtracker, milkytracker, modplug tracker, psycle, renoise, schism tracker, skale.

Biggest are madtracker and renoise. Especially renoise turns some heads. They're catching up with traditional sequencers feature-wise and have equal sound quality.

I wasn't really doing any devil's advocate stuff. You said trackers aren't legit pieces of music software anymore - I said "nope," then you said there were not many trackers in development today, I agreed but then Blaster makes a good point: aodix, berotracker, buzz, madtracker, milkytracker, modplug tracker, psycle, renoise, schism tracker, skale. Forgot about all those :) not to mention the specialty ones like NerdTracker and Mod2PSG and all those weirdo gameboy trackers.