Sound Good Strings

Hello Remixers,

I am wondering if I should seek to invest in a good string library, and if so, what are some recommendations? I already have Komplete 9 Ultimate which comes with Action Strings, Session Strings Pro, and Kontakt Strings. I don't know if it is just my skills falling short of making them sound good, or if I could use better source material. I use both FL Studio and Sibelius 7.5 as DAWs.

I've done a lot of research, but I don't want to spend the money if it's just my skills that need the upgrade. I've been playing violin for almost 20 yrs and have played in several orchestras. I know what "good" sounds like, but I am new to the remixing scene.

Thanks!

Rodok

SDG

Answer 1:

Post some examples of music you've made with your current string samples. Evaluation can help people tell you if your problems are easily solvable by clever programming or if the samples are the problem themselves.

Answer 2:

Good samples will get you there faster than wasting time on awful ones.

Action Strings is mediocre; it's just a bunch of pre-made "action" phrases. Repeated staccato rhythms and the like.

Session Strings Pro is a super dry sound, and the recordings aren't great; I don't even think it has legato scripting. It's kind of love or hate; Session Strings gives you the "pop" string sound really easy but you can't really do actually intimate string stuff with it. It's good in band ensembles, but it absolutely does not function as a string orchestra; it's too thin.

Kontakt Strings are... pretty mediocre as well. They sound thin, and don't offer much dynamic or variation. You can drop them as chordal backgrounds, that's about it.

What kind of string writing do you want to do? That can better help answer the question as to what string library would be better for you.

This is a running list of the pretty good string libraries around right now:

-Spitfire Sable

-Spitfire Mural

-Audiobro LA Scoring Strings

-Berlin Strings