OCR03429 - *YES* Final Fantasy 10 "Those Who Seek the End"

Chimpazilla

Hello, my name is Brandon, and I go by SixteenInMono on the forums and everywhere else. This is my first time submitting to OCRemix, so I’m hoping to get some good feedback to improve on my works. I have arranged the song “Servants Of The Mountain” (or People Of The North) from Final Fantasy X, under the original title of “Those Who Seek The End”. My mix of this song is made to feel very open, a lot of emphasis on atmosphere and feel, rather than technical skill or prowess. So I hope the judges enjoy, and I hope to hear back from you! Enjoy.

• Liontamer changed the title to 2016/02/09 - Final Fantasy 10 'Those Who Seek the End'
  • 3 weeks later...

This is a pretty epic sounding arrangement. I like how big it eventually gets - it really trys to sweep you off of your feet. Really great sound to this.

That being said, there are a few elements that could use some improvement. The guitar tuning in the beginning, first and foremost, is sharp. It otherwise sounds pretty good, but it's sharp for the entire track, so you need to be careful with your tuning. The other parts sound pretty well in tune, so it sticks out quite a bit. That particular guitar is also very wet, with that heavy delay and reverb. You could do with a little bit less delay and reverb on it while achieving a similar effect, without sounding like a flood of sound (which muddies the track a little bit).

The drums up until 0:33 sound very busy, considering how calming the guitar is at that point. It's up to you, but it feels unnecessarily dense, at that point.