Name- Gabriel McGovern

Email- 

UserID- 34381

Submission Info

Game- The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

Name of Arrangement- Anthem of Rainswept Souls

Songs Arranged- Windmill Hut, Song of Storms

Comments

I arranged this rendition of Song of Storms some years ago on a little, plastic keyboard. After hearing some of the amazing work done by Remixers such as Theophany and Rozen, I finally decided to try and translate my little remix into a fully orchestrated and produced version. It begins with an audio interpretation of Link entering the Windmill Hut in Kakariko Village, speaking to Guru-Guru, and playing the Song of Storms (which causes a thunderstorm, as in the game). After the Windmill Hut theme drops out, the arrangement moves into the original composition of the Anthem of Rainswept Souls. I did not have access to live instrumentation or vocals; all tools and resources I used were free. I am by no means a professional, but I hope that my first submission will be enjoyed and welcomed by your community of talented musical interpreters.

Edited by Liontamer
closed decision

Just one, I'd like to hear a remix of Song of Storms that doesn't include rain/weather SFX.  That's not a dig against this one specifically, but this does use it throughout nearly the whole track, and it's a little on the loud side.  It interferes with the harp's frequencies in particular, 3:14-4:08, being the most significant because of how busy it is.  The flute at 0:46-1:22 is pretty muddy, too, covered up by the rain and some of the brass; the tuba also gets drowned by the choir at times.  And of course the thunder covers everything, but it's supposed to, although I'd rather hear the music personally.

I don't have anything else against this; it's an impressive job with free samples, and the arrangement in the second half is clever.  But the balance definitely has a lot of room for improvement.  Improve on that and I think this will be good to go.

NO (resubmit)