*NO* Mega Man X5 'Betrayed by a Friend'

Gario

My ReMixer name: Sambalbali

Email: 
Userid: 34169

Game: Megaman X5
Original song: X vs Zero theme
Name of the ReMix: Betrayed by a friend

This is one of the best songs ever and holds a special place in my heart. I searched if there was any orchestral remixes of the song but couldn't find any good versions so I decided to make my own.

Edited by Liontamer
closed decision

• Liontamer changed the title to 2017/03/22 - Mega Man X5 'Betrayed by a Friend'
  • 2 weeks later...

During the intro, I was prepared to love this, as it started off with some beautifully emotive piano, accented by some tasteful cello.  Then the main orchestration kicked in, and it's just not up to the same standard.  The instruments all sound stiff and mechanical, the strings especially.  The trumpets are oddly articulated--I'm not an expert on samples specifically, but these have an unpleasant honk to them.  The whole soundscape is a bit muted, as well, not only being a bit quiet compared to the intro (a whole orchestra should be much louder than a solo piano, not about the same), but lacking in both low and high end frequencies.

That last crash deserves some special attention--not only was it a very strange choice for the arrangement, and I'm not clear what it was supposed to accomplish, but it clips and crackles severely.

I did enjoy the arrangement a lot, and the piano segments could stand on their own, but the humanization and production on the full orchestra isn't there yet.  Please try taking this over to our workshop forum, as there's a lot here that I think deserves a front page post.

NO (resubmit)