Rotten Eggplant

1. work-in-progress Duck Tales - The Moon (Psytrance Remix)

13 posts in this topic

So a friend of mine challenged me to remix this theme in the Goa / Psy Trance style. Well, I like a challenge. So, here is my first attempt at Goa Trance. Looking for feedback on the style, sound, eqing, everything. I'm new to this genre (and this site), so let me have it. ;) Thanks!

Source: 

Remix: 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m3YYVVnYbIgs8ESnUkODWkpYyO4MiEEn/view?usp=drivesdk

EDIT: I must add that this song is only halfway finished. Forgot to add that...

UPDATE: Link updated. See post for more info.

More like full-on or psytrance than it is Goa trance. I don't think I've ever come across anything within this genre of music on this site. I like how this sounds so far. I like how you took a melody that sounds kind of uplifting and just adjusted the notes enough to where it sounds darker. However, fitting the original melody back into this remix somewhere along the way would be nice, that way it gets that familiarity back. As for equalizing and such, it sounds fine on my laptops speakers.

Ah, well, at least I'm in the right ballpark as Goa. The challenge is to make it Goa, so could you help me understand Goa a little better? Maybe provide some examples that provide a good enough contrast from Psytrance? 

I will also try to include more of the melody in there. Right now, most of the melody is sort of background sounds... It's hard to incorporate the melody without it sounding off or overbearing, but hey, it's overcoming this challenge that'll be most rewarding!

Thanks again for the feedback!

EDIT: So I talked with my friend about the differences between Goa Trance and Psytrance, and he explained it to me. He said to go ahead with the psytrance thing, as he didn't realize I was going to nitpick about the style. So, psytrance it is.