PDA

View Full Version : Reaper Music Program Manual


Syndicated.Corpse
10-09-2009, 01:43 AM
Is there like a manual/book that teaches the user all the in's and outs of using Reaper?
I fiddle yes, but I am more of a analytical person when learning something new.
So I like to have a book that I can reference often.
Is there such a book?
Thanks guys and gals.

avaris
10-09-2009, 01:47 AM
It's on their website:

http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php

LuketheXjesse
10-09-2009, 01:50 AM
We have a tutorial right here (((int)(dollars*100)) % 100) in OCR actually. It's how I learned how to use it.

Moseph
10-09-2009, 02:32 AM
We have a tutorial right here (http://%28%28int%29%28dollars*100%29%29%20%%20100/) in OCR actually. It's how I learned how to use it.

EDIT: Never mind, was going to link to it but then realized Luke already did and the link wasn't colored for some reason.

EDIT 2: Oh, it's not colored because it's broken -- unbroken version (http://www.ocremix.org/forums/showthread.php?t=13478)

LuketheXjesse
10-09-2009, 02:34 AM
what the

Why is my link completely broken? That is weird.

Moseph
10-09-2009, 02:42 AM
It seems to point to http://((int)(dollars*100)) % 100/ (http://%28%28int%29%28dollars*100%29%29%20%%20100/), judging by what the quoted version links to.

Did you accidentally not copy the address properly and it pasted what was already in the clipboard?

big giant circles
10-09-2009, 05:37 AM
Luke, I'm not going to get tricked into looking at your porno site again.

Arcana
10-09-2009, 06:18 AM
Someone was programming in Java or C++ recently.

Syndicated.Corpse
10-09-2009, 06:28 PM
Thanks guys!!!
Now, .dll plugins are the sounds and instruments right?
And btw, when I try to dl the manual, it will pop up a new screen and freeze or w/e and not dl.
Confused @_@

AMT
10-11-2009, 01:12 AM
Hm, does the same thing for me. Try right click > save as on the previous page and open it in the standalone adobe reader, that worked for me.

Yoozer
10-11-2009, 01:34 PM
Thanks guys!!!
Now, .dll plugins are the sounds and instruments right?
DLL files are the plugins. When a softsynth you've downloaded has only that and no nice setup.exe or something, you can simply copy the DLL file to your plugins folder, and you're done.

The "sounds" are something different; "sound" is the wrong term. Rather, use the word "preset" or "patch" (on some hardware synths they're called "programs"). The name "preset" comes from organs; the name "patch" from modular synthesizers where you couldn't store anything in memory; you'd have to shoot a picture of the front panel or write down all the positions of the knobs and all the locations of the patch cables.

When you have a plugin such as Synth1, there's no actual file that makes sound. A preset contains all the settings of the knobs, which is just a small list of nubmers.

When you have a something like Kontakt, each preset consists of both the settings and a bunch of .wav files. Either of the two alone won't be of much use; you can have a whole stack of samples but the preset gives them the cohesion.

Syndicated.Corpse
10-13-2009, 12:38 AM
DLL files are the plugins. When a softsynth you've downloaded has only that and no nice setup.exe or something, you can simply copy the DLL file to your plugins folder, and you're done.

The "sounds" are something different; "sound" is the wrong term. Rather, use the word "preset" or "patch" (on some hardware synths they're called "programs"). The name "preset" comes from organs; the name "patch" from modular synthesizers where you couldn't store anything in memory; you'd have to shoot a picture of the front panel or write down all the positions of the knobs and all the locations of the patch cables.

When you have a plugin such as Synth1, there's no actual file that makes sound. A preset contains all the settings of the knobs, which is just a small list of nubmers.

When you have a something like Kontakt, each preset consists of both the settings and a bunch of .wav files. Either of the two alone won't be of much use; you can have a whole stack of samples but the preset gives them the cohesion.

You've successfuly confused me.
Thats complicated @_@