OCR01660 - *YES* Marathon & Halo 'The Forerunner Mix (Beta)'

Liontamer

Double submission; typically not allowed, but I'll let this one ride on due to the obscurity of the source material - LT

Hi,

a couple of weeks ago I made a couple of tracks celebrating the music of marathon and halo, basically taking themes from both and orchestrating them together. They are currently up at halo.bungie.org:

But I can email them to you if you want.

The first track uses the theme "Leela" from marathon and mixes it with various motifs and rhythms from the halo soundtrack, mostly from the theme 'Covenant Dance'. The second is based on "Chomber" from Marathon and "Under Cover of Night" from Halo.

No samples from the originals were used.

I'm not good with names so I've just been calling them Marathon Mix 1&2..pretty lame I know.

anyway let me know if there's anything else I can tell you

By the way I'm a composer from London Uk working freelance for film/TV and trying to break into the game industry, more info on my website if you're interested.

thanks for your time

Nick Singer

http://www.nicholassinger.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Marathon - "Chomber"

Halo Original Soundtrack - (10) "Under the Cover of Night"

Intros with the opening verse of "Under the Cover of Night" dropped down a bit. Transitions over to "Chomber" at :37 on some nice plucked strings, before bringing back the "Under the Cover of Night"-style writing from :49-1:37, greatly extending the progression of that theme, with "Chomber" constantly in play no less.

Nice airy segue at 1:33 bringing back the "Under the Cover of Night" melody from 1:38-2:01, then laying some light strings based on that progression from 2:01-2:18 in a nice touch, moving the Chomber melody to the background from 2:02-2:13.