Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:10 AM
UnofficialSoundtrack UnofficialSoundtrack is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quick question - can you change tempo/time sig mid-piece?

Does FL allow you to adjust the tempo or time signature in the middle of a composition?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Please join us the next two weeks supporting our sponsor, Theatrhythm Final Fantasy Curtain Call™!!
  #2  
Old 05-09-2008, 05:45 AM
DDRKirby(ISQ)'s Avatar
DDRKirby(ISQ) DDRKirby(ISQ) is offline
Red Mage (+400)
OC ReMix Artist Profile
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Send a message via AIM to DDRKirby(ISQ) Send a message via Yahoo to DDRKirby(ISQ) Send a message via Skype™ to DDRKirby(ISQ)
changing tempo is as easy as automating the Tempo using edit events or an automation clip (do you know how to do this?)

changing time signature, is a little more problematic, although I do know that you can change the number of beats in each pattern (upper left corner of step sequencer)
(someone else chime in on this one)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2008, 01:41 PM
Nutritious's Avatar
Nutritious Nutritious is offline
Justin M, Judge, Portrait of a Plumber Director
Ryu (+1750)
OC ReMix Artist Profile
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Norcal
I don't know of any way to actually change the time signature on the fly. Personally, I just start writing in the new time signature and ignore the markers. It can get a bit confusing, but it still works.
__________________
Current Projects: SD3
Released Projects: BC Boss Wild Arms FF4 Super Metroid Tales Xenogears DKC2 FF5 Mario 64
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:22 PM
UnofficialSoundtrack UnofficialSoundtrack is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDRKirby(ISQ) View Post
changing tempo is as easy as automating the Tempo using edit events or an automation clip (do you know how to do this?)

changing time signature, is a little more problematic, although I do know that you can change the number of beats in each pattern (upper left corner of step sequencer)
(someone else chime in on this one)

Well I'm actually kind of trying to decide whether to use this program or a different one. Tempo changing is high priority for me. I just needed to know if it was possible. So thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:43 PM
Zephyr's Avatar
Zephyr Zephyr is offline
Tanooki Mario (+1500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chaning tempo is relatively easy, and it's very easy even to have a varying tempo, you could even hook it up to an LFO if you so chose, time signatures are trickier, but I think you can just change the beats per bar as you need to, do the first part in the time signature you want then switch it (I don't think it affects things you've already recorded, but I could be wrong) You could then just continue recording and switch it as you record in different signatures. I think it would work, I'll check when I have a chance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2009, 11:08 PM
thehunter08 thehunter08 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I want to be able to change tempo in my works. I have both FL7 and FL8. I would like to know how to change tempo and, if possible, change beat time (Ex. 4/4 to 3/4). E-mail me if you can. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2009, 01:04 AM
Zephyr's Avatar
Zephyr Zephyr is offline
Tanooki Mario (+1500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Or, y'know you could just read this topic which explains everything...

And no, you can't change registers, but FL hardly has registers anyways, just quantize to different settings for 3/4, 6/8 etc.

Also, I'm sensing a pirate if you have both 7 and 8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.