Hi dear Judges!

Contact Information

* ReMixer name - OneUp

* Email address - nyren@mail.nu

* Website - http://www.freewebs.com/fboneup/

* Userid - 16275

Submission Information

* Name of game arranged - Lemmings, C64

* Name of individual song arranged - Just Dig(?)

* Original by Jeroen Tel

* Link to the original soundtrack http://djpretzel.web.aplus.net/songs/original/lemmings.sid (Song nr 3)

* Comments -

This is my first try for a serious game remix, it's on a song from Lemmings, I think it's called Just Dig.

The first time I heard this tune, I knew this could be an awesome Happy Hardcore-remix. The chords are just perfect, and it's definitely cheesy enough.

I tried to keep the 90's european Happy Hardcore sound, but with greater synths, and I think I managed pretty well.

It's a bit mechanical, especially the percussions and maybe the arrangement, but that's typical for HHC.

Greetings

OneUp, Sweden

(Btw, you can keep the link to the remix in the Judges Decisions post)

---------------------------------------------------------------

http://old.exotica.org.uk/tunes/archive/C64Music/MUSICIANS/T/Tel_Jeroen/Lemmings.sid - SIDtune 3/15

Nooooo, generic boom-tiss at :26, then flimsy sounding claps added in at :38. You gotta get the claps sounding good for a track like this, it's a make-or-break thing. :lol: It's gotta be top-flight happy hardcore.

Yeah, the flimsiness of the textures and blandness/genericness of the synth design just hurts this the whole way through. Well, we've kind of already been through this discussion with the decision on Fröhn 'Remastered Gabber Mix'. I know you said you were going for an improved sound compared to 90s happy hardcore, and I agree that you've got it, but that still doesn't mean the production was strong here.