Yosakoi Remix contest

Scrattch

Hello all!

My name is Xander, and I'm currently an American student studying in Nagasaki, Japan. I'm a member of one of the best Yosakoi dancing troupes in Japan, Toppuu. Yosakoi is a high-energy traditionally based Japanese dance (think dancing, screaming, ninjas :) ), and students traditionally learn the dance Soran-bushi.

Here's the deal: I'm proposing a contest to re-mix the traditional Soran-bushi. The winning song will be given to Toppuu, and danced to during practices (if it goes over well, it very well may be performed!). While I can't guarantee the dance will be performed by Toppuu, I CAN guarantee that the winning song will be performed to by their sister group in the United States, called Arashi.

This is an opportunity for a remixer to have their song danced to by one of the top groups in Japan, and I figured I might as well ask to see if anyone is interested (since I'm one of the few in the group that speaks English, hahaha)

Yosakoi is still a relatively new artform, and has little to no following in the United States. Thus, the music style might be hard to recreate or remix. The songs usually take traditional Japanese sounds (normally the shakuhachi or shamisen), combines it with a "rock" guitar feel, and upbeat drums to give it a modern appeal. This particular song (soran bushi) was performed by fisherman in Hokkaido, and the dance to it mimicks those movements. The song itself is a bit repetitive, and the movements follow that (considering it was a work song), and I'd like the remix to change that.

You can find a copy of the original song uploaded here: http://www.k-state.edu/yosakoi/sound/soran-bushi.mp3

Criteria:

- The remix should be upbeat, but danceable

- The remix should retain the flavor of Japanese instruments

- The remix needs to stay a reasonable length, as the dancers might be exhausted at anything over 6 minutes