Looking at programs/ keyboards...

Hello! I am very interested in making music on my computer via MIDI and all that good stuff. However, I'm very new to this process. My only real experience with music on my computer is using Sony Acid Music Studio to play with loops and record. And as you know, loops and bad recording quality simply won't cut it. So I decided to look into what a beginner should buy when starting brand new. And where else to ask but my favorite website? :<

So here's the thing. I've been looking at either FL studio or Kontakt 3. This all seems really professional, but since I'm a beginner, I don't know if I'd be able to effectively work around in these programs. Is FL studio easier to navigate around in?

Can you even record things in Kontakt, or is it just a big sample library?

I'm also looking for a keyboard. Nothing fancy really, just a good, modestly priced, solid keyboard that I can use with a Dell computer. Speaking of, do I need some kind of output jack installed to be able to plug in a midi keyboard?

My budget is around $500 by the way.

Well, thanks for helping! If you have any suggestions, lemme know.

So here's the thing. I've been looking at either FL studio or Kontakt 3.

If you would've said "FL Studio and Kontakt 3", I could've understood, but you're comparing apples and rhinos.

Is FL studio easier to navigate around in?

Can you even record things in Kontakt, or is it just a big sample library?

Both have a demo. Try these first.

In short:

FL Studio is a complete environment where you can compose songs.