"HUZZAH" Balrog's Theme Remix

rtnario

Hi, this is rtnario and it's my first time around in these forums as an actual user. I've been composing for many years now actually, but I've never tried posting any of them here (even if it's the WIP thread), so here's my first attempt. After seeing the many very much intimidating NO's from the judge thread, I feel I need to stay around this part of the forum more...

http://www.mediafire.com/?tmunobemnzz

That's a somewhat complete remixed version of Balrog's Theme from the game Cave Story. As the original was 32 seconds or so, mine only extends up to a minute and 4 seconds. Genre I'm heading for is metal with a sort of epic feeling. All sounds are VSTs and samples.

Production sounds good to me. The source clip usage is a bit too much for ocr, tho.

Source clip->big metal->source clip->big metal... This isn't an interesting, interpretive, or creative enough progression if you're trying to get on ocr. You need to work more on the progression, the arrangement. Write your own based on the important parts of the source.

Good luck.

Well, now that you've brought the real problems of this remix to me, I see now where to improve. I also somewhat see this post as a test of OCR's standards, seeing that they're very high (and now it's confirmed even), so thanks for the comments. Even though most of them do sadden me XD

Woah! Metal parts = EPIC! Now you just need more of it, and less of the chip-tune clips. It sounded really cool at the beginning, going from chip-tune to epic metal, but probably should only happen maybe once more in the course of the song, maybe before a guitar solo or something.

It does sound really cool, though, and if you can pull off your own progression for this (like Rozovian was saying) I can imagine it'll be pretty sweet.

Keep working on it!

Metal FTW

Welcome to the OC WIP boards.

Giving this a go...