Song of Healing

UPDATE: Latest version: stats.png

Original post:

Hi, lurker noob here. I'm trying to write a remix of the Song of Healing for the piano. I'm still in the arrangement stage, so no production etc. concerns yet.

I've gotten it down to something I think I could write down and really practice to perform and record, but I'm looking for other opinions before I do so. I have my own concerns about it but I guess I'll just see what you more experienced people here have to say...

Youtube link. :tomatoface:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kW1z7FcyIE

Thank you for the kind reply!

What are your concerns?

First, I'm concerned that the section from 2:27 to 3:00 doesn't fit in well. It has a 6 vs. 4 rhythm thing; I don't mess with the rhythm anywhere else.

Second, from 0:37 to 0:55 the only difference between what I'm playing and the source material is that top repeating note. Is that okay in a remix?

Third, I don't stray from the original structure and chord progression. This doesn't bug me, but for the remix, should I change that up too?

Thank you for the kind reply!

You're welcome!

First, I'm concerned that the section from 2:27 to 3:00 doesn't fit in well. It has a 6 vs. 4 rhythm thing; I don't mess with the rhythm anywhere else.

I don't think it doesn't fit. Actually, I like it (well, one of my favourites music genres is prog rock, so I love messing with the rythm hahaha).

Second, from 0:37 to 0:55 the only difference between what I'm playing and the source material is that top repeating note. Is that okay in a remix?

Third, I don't stray from the original structure and chord progression. This doesn't bug me, but for the remix, should I change that up too?

Well, yes, those things you mention could be a "problem". You better read this, taken from the site FAQ. It could help:

4. Arrangement