muddy

Hi, i've been hanging around Oc remix FOREVER, since it started up really, and im now trying to see if i can get a remix on the site, but I have quite a few problems with making my music actually SOUND good. I'm good with the actual music and notes and all that jazz, but i'm entirely self taught so balancing and stuff is hard for me, i decided i'd take it one step at a time.

People keep throwing around the term "mud" or something sounds "muddy".

What exactly does that mean? I assume it means all the tracks you use are on the same level of sound, but im not exactly sure what it even means.

It's used all the time to describe my mixes when i ask for critique, so i want to know more about muddyness.

So

What exactly makes a song muddy?

How do I get rid of the muddy sound in my work?

Does anyone have an example of a song with a muddy and non-muddy version? I really do thing most of my stuff sounds good, and i really have nothing to compare the difference between and i think that would really help.

Thanks ahead of time.

Also I work in garageband.

Muddy songs tend to have instruments that aren't clearly defined or perhaps masked by other instruments. Lack of high frequencies or too much reverb helps to 'clog up' the soundscape too. Hopefully someone else'll come in and go into more detail.

Do you have any of your stuff that you could post in this thread perhaps?

Yeah people have pretty much said the jist.

Basically the term muddy means that the different instruments in a mix are undefined and lack clarity.

When you make a mix, you want to give each instrument its own space so you can hear all the different instruments as clearly as possible. If for example you have a mix with a loud and clear lead, but you strain to hear all the different instruments in the background, then your background mix is muddy.