Spare a newbie some answers/tips?

ravendew

Hey there OCR. I'm ravendew, and I'm a complete newb who wants to learn to make some music. I have Reason now and a keyboard I can work with, and I read most of the Guides section. I have some music theory experience and I know what everything on a synthesizer does from a theory standpoint. But I've never written music, and have certainly never done anything like this before. So I'm asking for any beginner tips anyone's willing to spare. A few particular questions I have are:

Which is it better to start with as a beginner - video game remixes or original works? Does it matter?

As a beginner, should I be looking to take the time to program the sounds I want in a synthesizer (even though it'll take me a while as I'm new) or should I start by just using the preset patches included with Reason?

Any tips on how to structure one's workflow?

I've listened to a lot of electronic music but am generally fairly ignorant as to song structures, and am finding it kind of difficult to structure my attempts so far. Any tips on this?

Thanks in advance for any help. :)

hey Ravendew,

I'm an OCR newb but I can definitely offer you tips for starting out as I've been playing and writing music most of my life and am currently studying for my masters in production and music engineering.

I would say that the best place to start would be to try and cover a song you like using reason/the software you have. Once you feel comfortable with your software etc. you can be more creative and adventurous.

Its always good to program your own sounds, but by no means a necessity. If you don't have a basis in programming your own sounds it can be a fruitless endeavour unless you have a reference point. Have a look at some online guides but use the presets for the time being. Find the sounds/timbres you like and see how they are made in your virtual synthesizer. Try and recreate a sound you like.