Windows 8 and me - A story of betrayal, and a question about driver support for pro audio cards

OverCoat

Well, kind of. So I have a bit of a complicated audio setup. Or I did anyway. I have a hardware mixer that I've used for years. Under XP, I used to use just that paired with my E-Mu 1212m, a double-PCIe card that I've been using since 2004 or '05. Worked great. Somehow, I could also get it to record its own output by looping it back through the mixer - completely forgot how to replicate this. Anyway, since I got a new computer with win7 on it, that no longer worked, so I got a 2nd, external card 2 years ago, an Echo Audiofire 4. I integrated that into my audio setup so that the routing path was e-mu->mixer->audiofire>back to pc via firewire. This worked great because it meant I could control my volume via the hardware mixer on my desk and worry about software volume to the tiniest extent. I could also record my shows, pipe pc audio through skype, livestream, or whatever I wanted.