Audio Engineers

I'm currently considering attending The Lexington School for Recording Arts (link to main site for the Long Island Recording Studios}, to obtain a certification in Audio Engineering. It's a one hour commute, but it will lead me to a career in which I have high hopes.

I was wondering if there were any audio engineers here that could give me some insight into this field. Finding a job, where this position can apply to, salary, likes/dislikes, etc. I've already obtained a packet of information and such, but i'd really appreciate some experienced advice.

Well I work as an audio engineer/musician/composer, and if you want it bad enough you have to put in the work.

when I was on my production course I saw all too often students not turning up to lessons, but the main one was not doing or practicing/courswork in between.

The other thing with this is that if you want to make it you really do have to pretty much eat sleep and live music production/engineering.

The thing is competition is extreemly high and your gonna have to get your demo show reel within the top 5 demos if your gonna get any intereset in getting work

I hope I havnt put you off, but decide weather you want this as a hobbie or a career and stick to it

Well.. lemme ask you this first; what do you think audio engineering involves? And why do you want to do it?

In the information pocket, I received a custom report for Sound Engineering Technicians that gives details on tasks, knowledge, work activites, etc., so i'm fairly versed in what will be involved. Just from putting one and one together though, I can see AE being used in recording studios, radio stations, concerts, sports arenas and for my own music :wink: