How can I improve my singing?

I wouldn't go so far as to say you're a crappy singer. But I've got a couple of tips that might help you.

First, I would suggest singing with your own style, rather than imitating the singer of that song. I think it's really hard to accurately replicate someone else's singing style, but if you develop your own, no one can really tell you that you're doing it wrong :) Focus really hard on hitting the notes that you intend to hit and being consistent with the pitch - don't let it waver. And for styles like this (referring to the original song) where the guy is falling off of every note at the end of each phrase - that doesn't help when improving your singing. It's important to control your notes, and you can add in all the flair later. Three big areas that I think can make anyone a passable (or even good) singer are 1)Staying on pitch 2) singing powerfully and a distant 3)adding style.

That's kind of off the top of my head. I'm no professional singer by any means but I consider myself to be good and I used to be really, really bad. Just practice! And recording yourself is also good. Just like anything else, the more you do it, the better you'll be. Good luck!

I've been in choir for about 8 years by now, I suppose. So let's see.

Short and quick tips, no matter who you are:

- Watch your pitch. Check with a properly tuned instrument if you think you are off. Realize that you can be off by 1/10th of a half step or even 1/20th of a half step and still be audibly off-tune. 100 cents is one half step.

- Try to not develop a heavy vibrato habit. The more your pitch oscillates, the more off-tune you will seem. If anything, try to make sure your vibrato oscillates above your pitch so you don't seem flat. e.g. if you sing a C, oscillate between a C and C# or so, not C and B or so.

- Watch your timbre. Try to aim somewhere between back-of-the-throat and nasal, but not near either of those.