Getting into recording. I have some questions on "hardw

Alright, so I'm starting to get interested in doing some vocal recordings, and I know so far that I need:

-Mic (of course)

-Preamp

-Better Soundcard

So here's what I was thinking of going with.

For the mic, I was a little undecided, seeing as I'm new to this and don't know what would be considered "a good deal" or a good buy. I've heard people like to use Shure microphones, but any more info on that would be great.

For the Preamp, well... I'm wondering whether I'll actually need one. The soundcard is going to most likely be the Emu Proteus X, but if you think I'll still need a preamp for recording, should I go with something like Tube, or what?

Thanks.

Yeah, pretty much :P Oh well. I guess I shouldn't have ignored the search function.

Still, would anybody mind taking a quick look at my list of what I'm planning on picking up, to help me incase I pick up something I really don't need? XD

-Proteus X

The Proteus X is no recording device, it's a rompler bundled with a recording card from Creative Professional. And here it can be the 0404 up to the 1212M.

-SM57

Solid dynamic microphone. For vocals I still recommend large membran condenser microphones over dynamics any time though.

-Studio Projects VTB-1

Never heard of it, but Line6 and Behringer are also worth a look.

Again, I'm sorry about this.

More via the search function, and the posted links to specific related topics. I guess your questions are answered now.

The Proteus X can't be used for recording? Well, alright then. I'll take a look at the 0404 then.