*NO* Streets of Rage 2 'Pain's Funeral'

Emunator

Hi, my name's UncleBibby (Peter Locke). I've always loved the good ending theme to Streets of Rage 2 and i've been composing for a few years and i thought i'd take another crack at submitting a song to OCRemix. My last song submission was The Legendary TomaHawk which got rejected, but i understand why it was rejected... it was sort of aimless and sort of just a straight cover of the original without much change... this song, this time, i've made multiple versions of it and run it by my friend Decktonic and he and I think this is worth submitting finally. 

contact information:
UncleBibby
Peter Locke

Submission Information
the game: Streets Of Rage 2 (for the Sega Genesis)
my remix: Pain's Funeral
original song: Good Ending theme

i called it Pain's Funeral because at my Grandma's funeral a few years ago i realized this song (the original) is what i want to be played at MY funeral. My plan for this remix was sort of to get down the main melody from the song and then replace the overall structure, the bass, the drums, and some of the strings with my own musical ideas... and then of course, grind my brain against it, improving it and giving it a better feel over time. I usually finish songs really fast but this time i wanted it to be professional and i think i achieved a level of solidity and well-roundedness that i usually miss. i hope you like it, and even if you reject it, i just hope you got a good feeling from it.

Edited by Liontamer
closed decision

• 3 weeks later...

Opens up pretty lo-fi at :16 with some pretty oddball textures; taking a wait-and-see approach on this, as I'm honestly not digging the textures and don't think they work at all (and I like quirky arrangements). At :47, that could have been a spot where the soundscape got much clearer and that didn't happen, so the lo-fi/unclear sound isn't purposeful.