Starter Headphones...

Silverpool64

I'm looking for a good pair of starter headphones.

I heard that the Beyerdynamic DT-880 and the V-MODA Crossfade LP2 are pretty good, but they're a bit pricey. I've had a friend recommend the Sony MDR7506, but I don't know how to tell if they're good for music production.

I'm also wondering if I need to get any special equipment for headphones, and if so, what equipment.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Well, in general, you should check the impedance on the headphones you choose to buy. If it's large, like 250 ohms, then you would need a headphone amp to get the volume to a normal level. As always, I would actually recommend you save up for the Beyerdynamic DT-880, 32-ohm version if possible. I've been using them for about 5 years now (got them on sale for 51% off), and they have been working especially well.

• They really helped with mixing bass and upper treble with relative ease; they are semi-closed back, so they don't leak too much bass (unlike open-back), but also don't make it too muffled (unlike closed-back). Something that I couldn't mix properly on my previous headphones (Grado SR-60i) in less than 6 hours, I managed to mix on these in 30 minutes.
  • They give an honest stereo field. Some headphones spread things out too wide...
  • They give an honest representation of the amount of reverb that is actually going on. All of the other headphones I have tried previously exaggerate the reverb to some extent.

So those are some of the things you could consider. Here's an example of something I've written using those headphones.

I haven't tried the Sony MDR-7506 before, but I would suppose that they are alright. Here's a frequency distribution for three headphones to compare:

graphCompare.png.607fd937f0ea5caf2799091c1752ae33.png