NieR / NieR: Automata; "Groove of the Ancients"; a ReMix of "Song of the Ancients"

The Vodoú Queen

This isn't the first remix from a game I've completed, however it is one I am more confident with:

https://www.bandlab.com/vodouqueenxiii/groove-of-the-ancients-jazz-funk-dance-mix

I decided I might as well throw myself into the deep-end (hope I'm doing it right), but yeah.

Any advice, pointers, or criticisms (good or bad) would be great.

Hoping to get something into submission at some point... I realize Cakewalk / BandLab is not on the usual list of DAWs to work with, by the way, but it's all I have to work with at the moment. I am extremely new to composing, arranging, mixing and mastering music on my own, (with nothing but me learning from YouTube vids, what bit of information I still have on music theory from years ago in band, and other tidbits on the internet). I'm practically a tadpole in a pond.

Don't want anyone to go easy on me despite all this, please.

Look forward to the comments. o/ Cheers!

Edited by The Vodoú Queen
Submitted

• 3 weeks later...

Yeah I can try.

TY.

This is the full song (afaik):

And this is what I took from it, which is simply the acapella / mixdown version of the Devola and Popola lyrics to it:

I can no longer find the non-instrumental version of the song, but it's really complicated. People who played NieR would understand it better than I, but Song of the Ancients has about 3 different versions, and 3 different voices entwined, with Devola and Popola being the main ones, but they sing different lyrics. Fate and Atonement are the major instrumental versions of the song, unsure about the Hollow Dreams, but yeah... I used primarily the guitar beat and their singing as the basis of my remix.