OCR01642 - *YES* Super Mario RPG 'Leafcutter'

Liontamer

remixer name: alexhhhh

user ID: 15569

game remixed: Super Mario RPG

song remixed: Weapons Factory

I've been working on this song for awhile now, I actually submitted it back in may last year i think but it must have fell through. either way I'm glad because it was a pretty terrible song.

So uh there's a range of influences in this song, at first I wanted to make a Boards of Canada type song but some Crystal Method influence got in there. not to mention this is my first time doing a full out dnb/big beat type song, hopefully it doesn't sound too forced together. This isn't really the easiest song to remix since it's basically two repeating phrases, the only melodic variation coming from the key change between C and F#, so the source is used pretty liberally in the first half and the outro...hope that isn't an issue. so uh yeah enjoy

---------------------------------------------------

http://snesmusic.org/v2/download.php?spcNow=smr - "Weapons Factory" (smr-217.spc)

You need some meat on these beats! I liked the drum programming, but it sounded too flimsy. The bassline was also really quiet; no idea why though. Give it more presence.

I was feeling the changeup at 2:03, focused on some unintelligible vocals. The strings brought in at 2:28 sounded ultra-rough; the bow movements were very mechanical, and the intensity/velocity of each note sounded too similar. There was also some weird muddiness going on from 2:28-on where I couldn't quite place the reason. Things sounded pretty cluttered, the distorted synth upfront not helping at all.

As soon as the electric guitar-like synth came in at 3:18, the sound balance was thrown way off. The strings were barely audible, and the distorted synth just gave off a crowding out effect towards the other sounds until 4:07. Really nice ending section though; loved the voice samples at the very end, and the sounds were well chosen.