Rhythm Section Writing

Hey, everybody! I'm brand new to this whole remixing thing (although I myself prefer the term "re-arranging," but that's not the point), and I need some help doing my first mix.

I'm doing a big-band/swing style mix, and I'm finding that the rhythm section parts, especially the bass and drum parts, are becoming horribly repetitive.

Does anybody have any general tips on how to avoid this problem?

I'd rather not release a WIP of what I've got going, but if you must take a listen, send me a private message and I'll set you up.

Please and thanks,

Brennan Conroy (realdeal_55)

dumb question, but get it out of the way... are you arranging/remixing on a computer or are you just making notation for live play?

the easy way= fills. plain and simple. shuffle some of your hits on divisions of 4/8/16/32 etc... often used to add some momentum to a song..

give me an example of your drum line, and i'll show you how to do some simple fills that add + enhance your rhythm section.

I'm arranging on a computer.

Sorry, I wasn't too clear. What I meant to say earlier is that the program I'm using to arrange is a music notation program, and therefore the mix has musical parts and a score; it could be performed by a live band.

Anyway, here's a link to a MIDI I pulled from my drum track.

The first seven bars is just time, the eighth bar is my first fill, then time for 7 more bars, followed by another fill bar. Then I brought in the trumpet part to show you what I'm doing with my shots, and there's another fill at the end.

Thanks for the help!

Those fills are awfully robotic and generic. I'd also say that bass drum sounds a bit uncharacteristic of the genre, but then again I don't hear the rest of the piece so I can't say much for sure.

Get more cymbals and snares going, don't be afraid to make your midi drummer go wild once and a while.