Saving Earth (Mass Effect)

Kaiyoti

I figured that since I submitted a track for OCRemix for Mass Effect, which, oddly enough, was also my first post here, I should comment on this and see where I can help you out. Here's the link in case you want to hear it:

https://soundcloud.com/djgalvanization/save-the-earth-save-the-galaxy-mass-effect-remix

I'll know more to help you out once I hear back from the judges very soon since they are about to judge it. *wish me luck*

In the meantime, here goes my two cents. I'm no OC expert yet so take it with a grain of salt.

I definitely like the more urgent feel you're going for in this orchestral remix as well as the original subtleties you have near the end and throughout.

I'd work a bit on the delivery of the brass though. It sounds a bit dry. Too dry. Granted, the original Reaper Horn sounds pretty dry too, I think a bit of reverb on the Reaper note would benefit this orchestral remix since the rest of the song has a certain "space" to it. On mine, I sampled it straight from the song and gave it some FX and mods, but that's because it suited my particular mix. I think yours needs a bit more attention to really make it stand out.

I like the orchestral drum rhythms too. I particularly like the end and the intro sends me on a nostalgic trip.

On the string samples, I think they need a longer release so that it sounds more legato. I feel the individual notes fade a bit too quickly. EQ work could be done too, but it sounds pretty good for the most part to me. Hearing in headphones right now so maybe some of it sounds warped to me though.

I definitely enjoyed your theme and its progression overall.