Liontamer

-Contact Info-

ReMixer name: Txai

Email address: t_x_a_i@hotmail.com

Userid (number, not name) on our forums: 10937

-ReMix Info-

ReMix Title: Alteration of the Waterline

Name of game remixed: Super Mario 64

Name of individual song remixed: Dire, Dire Docks (underwater cave)

Comments: I've been working in this song for two years. Originally I had several different ideas for it: other transitions, endings... somehow I think it was the main reason it took me so long to finish.

My job is done. Now it's up to you guys to decide.

URL:

-Txai

--------------------------------------------------------------

Why is this encoded at 112kbps CBR? Use LAME VBR at least.

http://www.zophar.net/download_file/12246 - 09 "Dire, Dire Docks"

I liked the use of retro sounds to intro this. The texture at :28 was barebones & flimsy and the beats gradually added in didn't do much to change that. The brief slowdown from 1:05-1:09 had almost no purpose. Some of the sequencing needed work in terms of realism, mostly the strings. Some of the electrosynth stuff like at 4:16 & 4:32 sounded ugly; poor choices for the lead there.

There were so many issues here, but I'm just going to summarize. The arrangement in the foreground was at least interesting and you tried to vary and develop that stuff. The end result was too scattershot though, and the textures were lacked any depth whatsoever. Many of the samples were poor, and you could drive a truck through the empty space here.

You've at least somewhat got the right idea in terms of melodic arrangement. Somewhat. But you gotta keep learning, bro. You've got a long way to go.

NO

Mmm.. electro pop.