Need help with contracts and law related matters

Recently I've been composing (and getting paid for) music for an indie game. It's my first actual work and the process was quite simplistic - I send over music and I get paid, no official contracts whatsoever.

However, I believe sooner or later I will have to somehow make this business official and align it with the law for various reasons. So I was wondering if anyone here could link me to some material regarding types of freelancer composer contracts or perhaps could provide some advice from personal experience.

Thanks in advance!

P. S. Not entirely sure if this was the right forum section to post into. Please move if it isn't.

First thing is first: I am not a lawyer and what follows does not constitute legal advice.

Okay, so now that the disclaimer is out of the way, let me just say outright: You ARE a business, you don't have to do anything--you're making money, an income, right now, this year, on work that you're doing: You are a business. You're what the IRS calls a Sole-Proprietorship and you're doing business under your own name. This is okay, this is how this works, and you're in good company. This is income you declare on your taxes next year and you WANT to do that because there are so many wonderful deductions that you can declare as well.

I HIGHLY recommend finding a Tax-Class or small business class you can take--like at a community college or through some life-learning or continuing education program nearby, there's so much really useful details that are great to know when running your own business.

Contracts: Yes, contracts are REALLY important. Not because they're official but because contracts DEFINE the business relationship concisely.

You didn't realize it, but you are already under contract. In the US, contracts can be verbal or defined in correspondence--as in email.