Remix Name: Symphony of the Angel

Remixer Name: DJ Mana

Email: manamaniac@gmail.com or ma14133@students.salisbury.edu

User ID: 25270

Game: Secret of Mana (SNES)

Songs: Angel's Fear, Close Your Eyes

Genre: Classical

Comments:

This song was made using Finale and Adobe Soundbooth CS3. I've been listening to a lot of remixes for about 6 years now and after seeing the panel at Otakon 2008 I decided that I'd get going on my own remix. This is the first song I'll have submitted to OCRemix but I've had a bit of expreience submitting some of my earlier work to newgrounds.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for attending the Otakon panel, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I hope to be there myself next year!

http://snesmusic.org/v2/download.php?spcNow=sd2 - "Angel's Fear" (sd2-01.spc) & "Close Your Eyelids" (sd2-44.spc)

Not sure what was up with the first 45 seconds or so. Seemed like it was meant to be the players tuning, but the constant pregnant pauses just sound awkward because there was no room ambiance.

The "Angel's Fear" section was adapted well for small orchestra, but try to offer more interpretation ideas within that. 2:32 used "Close Your Eyelids" for the finish, although the way it was arranged wasn't particularly melodious, IMO. The ending at 3:00 was extremely anti-climactic; not really any resolution to speak of.

Good stuff for a first sub, but not cohesive enough yet. Develop the arrangement ideas further and throw in more interpretive ideas to give it more of your own voice. Also, refine the flow of the "Close Your Eyelids" section and give the piece a legit ending and you'd be in a lot better shape. Definitely hope you consider revisiting this, and hope to hear more from you.

NO

Heh, I thought the idea of the orchestra tuning was quite fun. Needs to be handled better though, it seems like just a small part of the orchestra actually did tune ;) and just fyi, you always tune after the Oboe!