Jump to content

OC ReMix Presents BadAss: Boss Themes!

Recommended Posts


OC ReMix Presents BadAss: Boss Themes Remix Album!

December 6, 2011

Contact: press@ocremix.org

FAIRFAX, VA... OverClocked ReMix today released its 30th arrangement album, BadAss: Boss Themes. The album, directed by OC ReMixers David "The Joker" Puga and Pieter "pu_freak" van Os, features 20 artists producing 18 boss theme arrangements from eighteen different games in a variety of dark, gritty, foreboding styles and genres.

BadAss is available for free download at http://badass.ocremix.org. This album was made to show exactly how BadAss these antagonists are, and honor them with music befitting of their villainy. BadAss was made by fans, for fans, and is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of the publishers or developers of the original games; all original compositions are copyright their respective owners.

"The concept of an album made up entirely of boss themes conjured up a certain feeling; a certain state of mind. The album needed to encapsulate the idea of bosses by featuring dark, visceral, and aggressive tracks," said album director David Puga, whose efforts have resulted in fusions of rock, orchestral, piano, industrial, electronica, ambient, house, and metal in tribute to some of the baddest men, women, shadow organizations, and otherworldly creatures to ever wreak havoc in games. "We're unleashing hell on an unassuming populace! Can you feel it?! Can you hear it?! That’s the sound of ass-kickery of a magnitude previously unheard of!"

Twenty artists collaborated on musical tributes to some of gaming's biggest evildoers, including:

  • Sephiroth, Kefka, Jecht, Gilgamesh, and Ultimecia (Final Fantasy series)
  • Vergil (Devil May Cry 3)
  • Laughing Octopus (Metal Gear Solid 4)
  • Donkey Kong (Donkey Kong '94)
  • Luca Blight (Suikoden II)
  • Nightmare (Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening)
  • Dr. Wily (Mega Man 3)
  • Dracula (Castlevania series)
  • Astaroth (Shadow Hearts: Covenant)
  • Cobra (G.I. Joe)
  • Ridley (Super Metroid)
  • Saren (Mass Effect)
  • Shredder (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time)
  • King Dedede (Kirby Super Star).

Following the release of OCR's faceoff against The Bad Dudes in Heroes vs. Villains, BadAss is OC ReMix's second album angled toward video game villains, and the first completely focused on the dark side of gaming history. "We searched the planet for the most BadAss of artists to contribute," said assistant director Pieter van Os. "BadAss, as an album, is really something to be proud of. I think everyone with a taste for BadAss music will love the result of our effort!"

About OverClocked ReMix

Founded in 1999, OverClocked ReMix is an organization dedicated to the appreciation and promotion of video game music as an art form. Its primary focus is ocremix.org, a website featuring thousands of free fan arrangements, information on game music and composers, resources for aspiring artists, and a thriving community of video game music fans.


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.


×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...