LoZ Ocarina of Time/Majora's Mask-"Bosses of Nova"

Touchstone

Hey guys! I know...I already have a WIP ReMix, but I'm not going to finish it (so go ahead and delete it). This one, however, is for REAL. It's a jazz ReMix, but I'm also going to have it be a live recording, of a jazz combo of the same name. So anyways, to the links!

https://soundcloud.com/touchsoundmusic-1/possible-remix-bosses-of-nova

The two songs I'm using are "New Wave Bossa Nova"(Majora's Mask) and "Song of Storms."(Ocarina of Time) Please, I'm an amateur, so any critique is helpful!

• 3 weeks later...

What DAW do you use?

I think that you may want to work on one of two things right now: quantization and velocities. You'll want to focus on quantization for the bass and the drums in order to smooth out rhythms that are a bit sloppy.

You'll want to work on velocities (how loud each note is) all over to try to prevent having a very mechanical, robotic sound. Little volume change per note sounds very robotic and when you're trying to create a piece in a very live, humanlike style (jazz in general, mostly) you want to work on making it sound more human (humanization).

When I first started I literally had no idea what quantization was and refused to touch the function in my DAW for my first few mixes. It wasn't pretty.

• 2 weeks later...
What DAW do you use?

I think that you may want to work on one of two things right now: quantization and velocities. You'll want to focus on quantization for the bass and the drums in order to smooth out rhythms that are a bit sloppy.

You'll want to work on velocities (how loud each note is) all over to try to prevent having a very mechanical, robotic sound. Little volume change per note sounds very robotic and when you're trying to create a piece in a very live, humanlike style (jazz in general, mostly) you want to work on making it sound more human (humanization).