Super Mario Rpg Boss (Armed Boss) Dubstep Remix

DjWalturo

I have been remixing songs for a few years now and I feel like I'm finally to the level where I could submit something to OC Remix.

I would love your opinions on what I should change or what's good before I submit it, as there is always room for tweaking.

I'd love to be the first to submit this song to OC Remix!

Also, in the guidelines for submitting it says you can't have any samples from Square Enix. I'm assuming that means I need to take out the coin sound effect from SMRPG that I used near the 'drop'.:cry:

Thanks,

-DjWalturo

---UPDATED--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remix Link: https://soundcloud.com/djwalturo/smrpgboss-remix-v-12/s-kcoez

---OLD-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remix Link: https://soundcloud.com/djwalturo/super-mario-rpg-boss-dubstep-remix-armed-boss-djwalturo/s-OLl8C

Source Link:

Edited by XPRTNovice
MR complete

Yep, gotta take out the coin FX. Also, this doesn't sound too dubsteppish to me until quite a while in, where the genre was pretty minimalistically approached, IMO (seemingly undistorted wobbles, strapped to the main groove's rhythm, with a could-have-been-abrasive lead---which it wasn't, yay :D). There's a weird note at 0:45, btw.

That aside, the production feels dated. The dance clap feels flimsy, while the kick, though nice, can be punchier. Strangely enough, at 1:14 the kick is somehow too loud, or whatever it is that's playing there, so you should check the velocities there. The rimshot that comes in here and there is hard to notice, and could be increased in volume since it does introduce some variation in the drum rhythms.