Secret of Mana- Mana Burn Remix

Hayeser

Feedback is most welcome, please- I'm new to the OC ReMix crowd so I'd love to start off strong with my first submission. Thanks!

I initially imagined going more orchestral since it's such a melodic, fluid piece. Alas, there have been other remixes of that nature, and my strongest suit is bass/groove/vibe. That seems to be untouched territory on this song, as far as I can find, so I embraced a new direction.

It's got an R&B/Electronic vibe that slowly build while scattering in the notable motifs from the original. I reharmonized the chord structure, and took my own liberties on the bass line, made my own samples, etc. This is one of my all time favorite games that I've played through countless times since I was a kid. Track is made with respect and affection. Cheers!

ReMix:

Source:

Hmm...looks like I've had a fair amount of views, but no feedback on this as of yet. 

I'm pretty confident to move this forward to Mod-Review, I'm happy with it, but as a n00b to the community here I was just hoping to get some wisdom shed and perhaps introduce myself a little before diving in. So anyway, let's do this thing!

Wow, this is really cool! I think people might not be giving feedback because the feedback you're looking for is beyond people's abilities to give good advice on. At least, that's what's going on with me. The only thing I can think that might need improving is adding some interest to the beginning. I think it's possible to add some awesome sound effects like you use later in the piece without taking too much attention away from those beautiful chords at the beginning. I can understand going for a more minimalist vibe though.

I really like the groove at 1:52, it reminds me of Boards of Canada :)

• 2 weeks later...

[MODREVIEW]

Secret of Mana is such a great soundtrack filled with so many intricacies to play with.  

- Really digging that opening bass riffing you have going on up to :55