*NO* Metal Gear 'Electro Gear'

Liontamer

Remixer/Forum name: Tyrannosorceror (formerly Mark_Li; I submitted a few mixes AGES ago when I was just learning. Tetris War Anthem and Eternity Ascending Gagazet :)

Email: ale0xxx1@gmail.com

Game arranged: Metal Gear (msx/nes)

Song arranged: Track 2 (whatever its called; I couldn't find a name anywhere :x)

This mix is my attempt to make a dance-able Metal Gear mix using what are (IMO) the best bits from the theme I chose. I am HEAVILY inspired by Justice, Kavinsky, The Presets, Midnight Juggernauts, Digitalism, Chromeo...basically all the indie electro stuff. I don't know if the influence comes through, since I'm nowhere near as talented as anybody on that list, but I'm still learning and I'm pretty happy with the track. I crave feedback.

---------------------------------------------------------

I remember Tetris 'War Anthem'; that was promising.

http://www.zophar.net/download_file/9121 - Track 2

Obviously, I liked the SFX in the intro. Music came off sounding empty despite everything going on, confirmed once the melody kicked in at :21. The texture here didn't fill the space well. I also thought the treble on the cymbals was a bit much; kind of surprising given that the rest sounded like it lacked highs.

I liked the concept behind the arrangement, this just needs cleaner production and an additional element or two to properly pad out the background & fill this out.

Something more interpretive with the melody at 2:05 would have been good, because it was a cut-and-paste of :22's section and dragged on.

2:34 switched over to an original section before playing with it around 3:00 and going into the chorus. Though the backing instrumentation was different, the chorus at 3:04 felt too similar to 1:21's section. Modifying the lead sound or rhythms there would have brought some life to it.