Jump to content

OC ReMix Presents Final Fantasy VI: Balance and Ruin!

Recommended Posts


OC ReMix Releases FREE Kickstarted Final Fantasy VI Album!

July 1, 2013

Contact: press@ocremix.org

FAIRFAX, VA... OverClocked ReMix today released its 40th arrangement album, Balance and Ruin, after a highly-successful Kickstarter campaign to fund studio time and a physical release. The 5-CD album features 74 all-new arrangements (six hours of music) from 74 artists, covering virtually every composition from Nobuo Uematsu's original soundtrack to the SNES classic Final Fantasy VI. Directed by Andrew "zircon" Aversa and Michael "McVaffe" Vafeas, Balance and Ruin is available for free download at http://ff6.ocremix.org.

In October 2012, the album raised over $150,000 through more than 2,500 backers on crowdfunding website Kickstarter.com to fund a premium 5-disc physical release, live musicians, three additional physical album reprints, and full royalty payments to Square Enix, developer and publisher of the amazing Final Fantasy series.

The album features an all-star roster of arrangers, performers, and lyricists, including:

  • Will Roget, II (Star Wars: The Old Republic)
  • Jake Kaufman (Double Dragon Neon, Contra 4, Shantae, Bloodrayne: Betrayal, Red Faction: Guerilla)
  • Jeff Ball (Gears of War 3, Mass Effect 3, League of Legends, Infinity Blade II)
  • Jillian Aversa (Halo CE: Anniversary, Soulcalibur V, God of War: Ghost of Sparta, Civilization IV & V)
  • Chad Seiter (Star Trek, Fringe, Lost) (arrangement performed by the Slovak National Symphony Orchestra!!)
  • Danny Baranowsky (Super Meat Boy, Canabalt, The Binding of Isaac)
  • Steffan Andrews (My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic, Voltron Force, FaceBreaker)
  • Laura Intravia (Video Games Live)
  • Andrew Aversa (Soulcalibur V, Monkey Island 2: SE, Super Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix)

A diverse array of live instruments are also featured throughout the album, from violin, cello, flute, mandolin, and recorder, all the way to a 120-piece live orchestra (the Slovak National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Susie Benchasil Seiter).

"Our goal with Balance and Ruin was to pay tribute to Mr. Uematsu's incredible work, a score that is often considered the greatest in the Final Fantasy canon," said director Andrew Aversa. "But thanks to the Kickstarter, we were truly able to raise the bar. The sheer scope of this project is bigger than anything we've done before, and I believe it will set a new standard for all fan arrangement projects to come."

About OverClocked ReMix

Founded in 1999, OverClocked ReMix is an organization dedicated to the appreciation and promotion of video game music as an art form. Its primary focus is ocremix.org, a website featuring thousands of free fan arrangements, information on game music and composers, resources for aspiring artists, and a thriving community of video game music fans.


Edited by Liontamer
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.


×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...