WIP "Drum and Elm" ("Newbark Town" remix)

Ronald Poe

This is my unique DnB remix of "Newbark Town" (Pokemon Gold and Silver) mixed with my own music. It's also my first DnB tune/remix (it's probably  and despite it not being OCRemix quality, I think it sounds cool. The name comes from a Pokemon fanfic. I used a mixture of Musescore, FL Studio, and Audacity. I know I have a unique and strange style but ...

https://soundcloud.com/dark-ronald-poe/drum-and-elm-newbark-town-remix

Tell me what you guys think. Please give constructive criticism (don't be too harsh) and polite advice on how I can improve. Also this is a work in Progress but I'm probably not going back to this piece.

So I have very little experience with the DnB style... That said, I will try my best to be constructive without being harsh.

The first thing I notice is the mix sounds really muddy. Everything seems to clash and try to overpower each other. Sometimes the lead comes through clear, but it only seems like that is when the bass disappears.

The drums are hardly there and (to me, anyway) sound like they've been super compressed or something.

Finally, I'd say the song is a bit repetitive. There doesn't seem to be much variation besides the fade outs near the end, which sounded really awkward to me.

Hopefully that didn't sound too harsh. I think the piece needs a lot of work, but I hope you do go back to it at some point. If you do I'll be interested in hearing what you decide to do with it.

Thanks Dragnbreth for your opinion. I can see where you're coming from (except about "The Drums are hardly there") and even I agree about that  awkward fadeout near the end. Do you know any good guides for mixing songs (I want my song to be less muddy and more professional) and EQ? If you or any other remixer has any more advice that could help, please tell me. 

Production