*NO* Cool Spot 'Effervescence'

Liontamer

Contact Info -

Remixer Name: MasterCactaur

Since this is my first submission, I'll apologize right now for any mistakes I might make during the process.

This mix is based on the Bonus Level music from the SNES platformer, Cool Spot. I always thought that the game had a few nifty tracks that would sound great if someone took the time to rework them into a more accessible format. When I was recently given a copy of Reason to tinker with, this was the first song I wanted to try out. If anything sounds out of place in the mix (like the bass guitar), it's probably because I'm fairly new to the program. After I finished engineering all the synth tracks and drums, I had my friend Grahame come in and record electric guitar for the second half of the song. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and the song shaped itself quite well as I went along.

---------------------------------------------

http://snesmusic.org/v2/download.php?spcNow=cspot - "Bonus Level" (cspot-09.spc)

Haven't heard that source tune in quite a while. I like the energy and feel of the intro. Bassline joins in at :45 arranging the source, though that and the organ at :52 are kind of stiff. Hard to make an organ sound stiff AND flat, but you did.

I liked what was going on, then BLAH, a generic dance-trance lead comes in at 1:15 with some run-of-the-mill effects on it. Aw, nah. :'-( Then the lead has no meat on it working alone at 1:30. Some drums were brought in at 1:38; the writing on 'em was good, but the tone was very weak. The melody also was switched to an electric guitar-type lead, but it was way too quiet and got buried under the other instrumentation; adjust the sound balance there.

Switched the lead again at 2:00, and I was really liking the potential of the textures there thanks to that lead; the background really needs filling out with additional instrumentation, but I can't put my finger on what would help it click together.