Guitar Rig 3 set up, problems, etc.

Hey, I already posted this to NI tech support and on the NI help forums but I have bad luck with actually getting help from help forums in general. It does seem to be a somewhat common problem so maybe someone here has gotten past it before or would have some ideas.

I'm trying to get Guitar Rig 3 set up and I'm not sure if what I'm experiencing is a set up problem or what, I didn't really understand the set up and was kind of winging it, and I'm pretty new to home recording / sound cards / etc. in general. Basically I am having two issues, not sure if they are related.

One is when trying to input guitars there is a constant sort of clipping sound going on.

The other is when I try to input there is a huge lag between what I play and when I hear it and it often cuts out entirely, not sure if this is an input or output lag.

Combined they make the program basically unusable in its current form.

I have a Sony Vaio with XP, 2 GB RAM, etc. there should be no problems there, and an M-Audio 410 firewire external sound card. The sound card works fine for recording guitar into other programs like Cool Edit, etc.

Any help with basic set up / these specific issues would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Odds are good that you've got one or more of these things going on:

1) You aren't using ASIO drivers for your soundcard causing lag.

2) You have a lot of stuff loaded in the background that individually takes up little CPU time but combined is using a fair chunk of it. Your CPU can't catch up.

3) Your sound card's buffer size is too big (taking up more memory and making the CPU work harder to fill it) or too small (more data is being generated than the buffer can hold, causing crackles).

4) Guitar Rig 3, with all the effects you're trying to use, is just too powerful for your CPU.