Sonic Advance 3 - Gleaming Blizzard

This is a remix of Twinkle Snow from Sonic Advance 3 for the GBA, one of my favorite Sonic games in recent years.

Anyway, before anyone makes any comments, I want to stress that I'm still a beginner at this. This is the third remix that I've done, and I personally think that I'm at least improving from my first mix, which is a good thing. With that in mind, constructive criticism is definitely welcome.

I was inspired to do this after a recent snowstorm in my area. I wanted to give it kind of an "epic" feel to it while making it sound kind of techno at the same time. I changed the main melody up a bit, it came out sounding a bit strange, but I like how it turned out.

Download link here: http://www.taposse.com/gleaming_blizzard.mp3

Enjoy!

First off, and most importantly IMO, I think something needs to be done with that bass drum. This mix seems to be built around a 4/4 beat, but the bass drum is often being drowned out by the rest of the arrangement. The drums in general are pretty static and repetitive, but I thought the sleigh bell sample was a pretty nice touch that certainly added to the mood of the mix.

The part at 0:41 where the other pads come in sounded really nice at first, but after a few seconds, some of the chords almost sounded kinda dissonant. Not that that dissonant chords are always a bad thing, but there are definitely some heavily dissonant moments in here that I think kinda distract from the nice, cheery, winter feel that was intended for the mix, at least I'm assuming that's what your intent was. That, and some of the samples sound kinda fake, namely the trumpets. The trumpets might not sound as bad if they were maybe playing the chord progression (layered on top of some other samples) as opposed to the lead parts, where they really stick out like a sore thumb.