*NO* Necromancer 'Necromantic'

djpretzel

Hi! Call me Jeff Parkes. I'm new to the whole remixing thing, but here's my first submission to OC ReMix: from a really old game found on the Atari 800 called "Necromancer."

Enjoy!

Jeff Parkes

Boom Chicka Wiggy Wagga

?Le gusta leer?

RRC+ R(39%) P+ TH(A;X;Dr;Hu+;Mu;My;P+;Su) ME>++ I+ CR Cc

d+m++fc+rc-- Ecd+g++m+z-f-- D+ M++ Zm GH+ L Gb(34%) Pcd

MST3K Info Club #101397

Can't snag a source tune for this, but I don't feel it's needed.

The organ coming in at :30 sounds a bit random, which wasn't too much of a problem, but then I heard some questionable-sounding note sequences coming in at 1:07 during your melody. I also felt the shakers were a bit too loud and could have been scaled back a bit. Also, try to learn how to better articulate your organ and slap bass samples to flow more naturally. The belltones aren't bad but don't do much to cohesively enhance the mix, as the pattern for them is pretty awkward-sounding.

There's kind of a different tone at 1:40, but overall not much dynamic contrast or development. Rather, at 2:00, everything became much louder for the last melodic iteration and that was about it. On the arrangement side, this has to be so much more. The ideas here were pretty brief and unexplored. Go for more on the composition end while improving the use of your sounds in tandem.

NO

i have to agree with liontamer on this one. very awkward sounding. the organ does not seem to fit in at all... and i'd initially say it was the mixing but it seems a little more deeply rooted than that - i'm afraid the tone is just out of place. the mood set by the first part with the syncopated piano part and the overlapping bells gives an ominous feel and that is absolutely ravaged by the jazz organ.

the percussion is decent although the shakers do need to be scaled back a bit. i'm not impressed by how uninteresting the whole drive of the track is - it needs to either be edgier or more subdued but not lost in between.