*NO* Donkey Kong Country 'The Ambiance'

djpretzel

Hi djpretzel. Thank you for looking at this email. My screenname is Zoola, and im a newbie on OC remix. I'm submitting a remix of the song "Aquatic Ambiance" from Donkey Kong Country. I'm sure your familiar with it, and besides, you can look on your archives. This remix is sort of a synthy R&B remix. Its about 30 BPM slower, and I've obviously messed with this a bunch. There's actually no midi involved, as I played each part using my Roland Fantom-s88 keyboard and used Adobe Auditon as a multi-tracker to record it.

The mp3 can be found at:

My home page is at:

http://www.mastergzoola.tk

Thanks again,

Zoola (John Torkington)

http://www.snesmusic.org/spcsets/dkc.rsn - "Aquatic Ambiance" (dkc-08.spc)

Decent opening, playing around with some sweeping sounds. and 1:03 lays it down with the BEEtZ! Man, these ambient sounds sound lifted from the SPC if you ask me. It's like Protricity always said, if you didn't copy the sounds and they still sound the same as the original, you might as well have copied them anyway. I suppose they can be recreated pretty easily. 1:19, the beat gets all off, and you can just tell this will be uninterpretive and not innovative.

And just as I'm typing that, the melody kicks in at 1:51; it's definitely a NO-go. The sounds supporting the lead coming in at 1:51 were detrimental choices, IMO. Listened to the whole thing. Great for the undemanding "gimme a cover" DKC music fan. Not bad, but the structure, style and compostion of the source material carries it. Gotta be more innovative nowadays.

NO