Gosh, I don't know where to start.

Ok, so I've been making music for a couple of years now. The thing is, I still feel like I'm basically an 8/10 (being generous here) in song-writing and a 1/10 in production. Here are some examples:

http://soundcloud.com/andrew-nee

Now, when I listen to a lot of the stuff people are doing here the production values are way higher. I'm actually wondering if there is just something I'm missing from the start, like my core set of drum / synth / etc. samples are weak or who knows what.

Anyway, I decided that the best way to move forward is to go back to the basics. I want to start over. Right now I'm running Orion on Windows XP. But I've never really heard of many people using Orion... is there a reason for this? Is something like Ableton Live a better option? Why do so many people use Macs, are they actually superior? What drum and bass samples do you guys use? Synths? Effects?

Short version:

1. What computer / OS / music software would you guys recommend?

2. What drums / bass / synths / etc. plug-ins would you guys recommend?

3. What effect plug-ins would you guys recommend?

4. Anything other helpful information.

I think my eventual goal is to get my production values at least to the point where I can listen to music on here and not feel super far off from it.

Why do so many people use Macs, are they actually superior?

Stereotypically, yes.

Technically speaking, depends on if you want to use Logic Pro and if you feel like paying double for minimal gain that only includes stuff like "stylish" and "stable" (the latter of which is subject to debate because I have had a Pro Tools Mac set up at school crash on me twice before). In terms of computing horsepower, no. They are not superior. If you're not rich but want a powerful workstation, PC gets you the most bang for your buck.

Short version: