Chrono Cross Folk Metal (Scars of Time, The Dream That Time Dreams, Chrono Trigger)

Hey guys,

This is a song I've been working on for the last couple of weeks. So far it's just a midi, but I think the arrangement is pretty much finished.

Let me know what you think. No vocals yet but lyrics are written and I'll be looking for a vocalist in the near future.

Remix

Sources:

Scars of Time

The Dream that Time Dreams

Chrono Trigger

Bearing in mind that I'm really new to this... I thought that the flute (or whistle?) didn't stand out against the distorted guitars - but I'm thinking that they are going to be harmonizing with the vocals right? So that may fit well. I think I need to hear it with the vocals, difficult otherwise, as I think I'm listening more to a pure backing track with no lead. hths!

Thanks for the feedback :).

It's interesting that you say that...do you think the whistle needs to be louder? It's possible that the part will stand out more when it's done live, but I don't know.

Also, I probably should have made my plans for the vocals more clear. I was thinking

(The whole song is along the lines of Eluveitie actually XD), so they wouldn't really be harmonizing.

As a big fan of Folk Metal, I'll say that yeah. This sounds quite good.

When you move into the Dream on the Shore of Another World however, I feel like it loses some of the originals feeling.

I may just be the harmonies of the violin and flute/whatevs it is.

Either way, I really enjoyed it.

The only problem I can see arising is that if you're gonna follow the melody for vocals... be wary.

I prefer when I write vocals, to find a new melody line to add some variation to the source and make it my own.

Some things are well suited to following the melody line however, catchy parts can become Choruses.

Hope this helps. I can't wait to see what you get in the end. ;-)

As a big fan of Folk Metal, I'll say that yeah. This sounds quite good.