*NO* Zelda 2 'Temple Gates'

djpretzel

Email sub file Beoulve_-_Zelda 2_Temple Gates.mp3

Hello!

I have been composing music in my spare time for a couple of years, and I have always made game style music. Yesterday I decided to make a remix of one of my favourite game songs of all time, the temple theme from Zelda 2. I think it turned out OK, so I decided to try submitting it to OC ReMix. I have been a follower of the site for many years, so it was about time that I posted something as well.

Unfortunatly I have no other choice than to attach the song to this email, I am sorry about that.

Info:

ReMixer name: Beoulve

e-mail: bgranli@yahoo.no

web page: http://music.download.com/beoulve

Regards,

Bjørn Granli

http://www.zophar.net/nsf/zelda2.zip - Track 8

Nothing really more than an overly conservative arrangement with decent instrumentation. Soundfield felt a little murky, but that was the least of the mix's problems.

Instrumentation did little to vary over time. Hit another chorus at 1:18 and I was hoping it would go somewhere new...

1:30, nope. Another verbatim iteration of the theme.

Finally something slightly different at 1:55 to provide some contrast. Before I could even officially bet myself that it would swing right back into the same older stuff, there it went right back into the exact same chorus at 2:21, basically rehashing everything until the end/3:31.

Will he go for the abrupt ending or the fadeout...??? Abrupt ending it was.

Cookie cutter, repetitive, uninterpretive arrangement approach; ho-hum sounds and processing.

NO

I don't think it's as uninterpretive as larry suggests, but I do agree it's way too straight-forward and conservative.

This needs more personal interpretation brought into the mix. Also the sequencing of most of the instruments need work.

I did enjoy the section at 1:55, but otherwise it goes back to the same passages as before.