Chimpazilla

ReMixer Name: Sparkyrogers

Birth name: Tahir Rogers

Email Address:

Site: http://spark717.newgrounds.com/

Game: Kirby SuperStar

Arrangement Title: A Quick Brawl

Original Song: King Dedede's Theme

This idea randomly came to me when I was fiddling around with my drum loops. A DnB remix for Dedede. DnB. Dedede. GET IT? dB

Also, I'm kinda new to the concepts of "Mixing and Mastering", so if this doesn't qualify, could you give me some pointers on how to properly mix so I could do better next time? Much obliged... ^^

---------------------------------

Edited by Liontamer
closed decision

First off, I recommend reaching out to our wip forum and/or finding a buddy who is more experienced than you to help you learn mixing/mastering. What is here is not too bad at all, it can definitely use some polish but it's coming along.

This is a pretty interesting take on this source. The drum loops do sound loopy but you have thrown in some fills so that's good. I'd remove some of the reverse samples, those should be used sparingly.

The lead at 1:00 is quite generic and doesn't hold my interest, but I like when you add the countermelody and harmony at 1:12. Be careful so sounds don't overlap too much in the same frequency range, you can use eq to make room for each one.

Glitching at 1:23 is super cool. Soloing at 1:29 is cool, all the way to 1:47, that part writing is great. The lead at 1:47 is much too loud and piercing, gotta blend that better, you could use a more interesting sound too.

The piano at 2:04 is extremely mechanical in terms of sequencing (notes played perfectly all at the same volume), and the timbre is a bit muddy, also the extreme panning is odd and distracting. Also, the piano is playing the same source tune motif pattern from before, verbatim. This would be a good point to change the writing up.

More work to do, but don't be discouraged.

NO (resubmit)

• 4 weeks later...

OMG the panning in this track...