*NO* King's Quest 6 "Girl in the Tower (King's Chill Mix)"

Liontamer

Hello! My name is Jon Paul Sapsford, and I'm a musician from Chicago and I love doing video game remixes. You have recently featured the duo I am a part of, Error 47, and our remix of the Gabriel Knight theme (though, I need to give credit where credit's due, that was 99.9% Troels' doing. He had an absolute vision with that one. I just put a little polish on it).

A while back we all put together the first (of soon to be 3) King's Chill album, and my synthwave take on Girl in the Tower from King's Quest 6 was lucky enough to be the closer to the album. 

I enjoy listening to this track quite a bit and am very proud of how it turned out, so I figured I'd see if you all would enjoy it as well.

Thank you for your consideration and all that you do for great video game music!

Download track link: 
Remixer name: Jon Paul Sapsford

Remix title: Girl in the Tower (King's Chill Remix)
Style: Synthwave
Email address: 
Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/studiorion
Direct youtube link: 
Name of game arranged: King's Quest 6
Name of song arranged: Girl in the Tower
Original Composer: Mark Seibert

Source tune with vocals:

Source tune instrumental:

Edited by Liontamer
closed decision

• 4 weeks later...

Starts off with an exact reproduction of the original piano solo. It's clearly not sampled, but it's a piano solo played in the exact same way as the original piano solo. Not great for the first 32 seconds of a "remix."

Then we get into the synthwave. The pads are huge, the reverb is huge. It's a wall of sound, and the lead is really quiet. You need to do a lot of leveling when the lead doesn't have as much frequency presence as everything else, and that wasn't done here.