*NO* Super Smash Bros. "Stompin' at Dinosaur Island"

Artist Name: ꓘirby

Hi! This is my first time submitting a work to OCRemix, though I've been listening to remixes since 2008 - high time I try participating in such a stellar community!

This arrangement is my own take on nostalgic VG music through the lens of one of my favorite genres of music: hip-hop turntablism. This song is a mashup heavily inspired by (and referencing) the iconic (and oft sampled) "Stompin at the Savoy" by Benny Goodman, later re-envisioned by Kid Koala in his seminal "All My Friends Are DJ's" album. In short, this particular song is a woven hodgepodge homage of dino-sounds to the spirit of DJ turntablists using Yoshi's theme as the connecting thread. With this song, I wanted to try to answer the hotly debated question: what if DJ Qbert played Smash and mained Yoshi? My style and approach to sampling has been greatly influenced by Steinski (and his "What Does It All Mean?" retrospective album), Fdel, BadBoe, and Cut Chemist, but my love for the greater domain of sampling in video game music comes directly from the great Hideki Naganuma and the Jet Set Radio franchise.

All turntable scratching was done by myself using my Serato DDJ REV1. Hope you enjoy!

Thank you for your consideration, and I look forward to any and all feedback you have :)

-Kirby

Games & Sources

In true turntablism fashion, this song is an arrangement of multiple sources:

Primary Samples (and sound effects):

- "Yoshi's Song" from Super Smash Bros. 64

- "Stompin At The Savoy" by Benny Goodman

Additional SFX & Voice Clips:

- Jurassic Park; Step Brothers; The Matrix

Inspiration:

- "Stompin' at Le Savoy" by Kid Koala

Edited by Chimpazilla
closed decision

• 2 weeks later...