Sonic 2 - Mystic Cave Zone Remix *WIP* *ADVICE PLEASE! =)*

QJimbo

the drum loop could have more energy to support the action that you're trying to give with your lead instrumentation and supporting strings.

I like the feel of this though, and i'm a craptastic producer so don't just take my opinion, but production seemed tolerable to me.

Did you post a previous wip of this? I remember hearing a wip posted about a month back that was kind of repetitive. So if this is your second reinterpretation, props on the progress.

This sounds somehow weird, but it's a nice beginning!

I think some better instruments and (I guess) harmony between them will have a nice outcome.

Try a longer WIP... so far it wasn't enough to hear your arrangements on the original song.

BTW, welcome to OCR! ;-)

This has a funky feel to it, I think that it takes a loooooong time to get started up though. If you want to keep the intro that gradual, you should throw in a few sounds here and there to keep the listenters attention. Also thicken the percussion, it would fill in a lot of the soundscape.

Thanks for the comments.

I think some better instruments and (I guess) harmony between them will have a nice outcome.

Thats a bit vague, could you suggest instruments that would work in the mix?

Besides the uber-sparseness of this
I agree it sounds quite sparse... I'm not sure why. You hear songs with just as many lines and they don't sound sparce... so I think this is a production problem. The start is deliberatly sparce obviously, but even when the beat comes in, there is no "thickness" to it, I wonder if compression might help? I'll have to try.
it sounds very mechanical. Edit the note velocities quite a bit.
Yeah I normally leave that sort of "polishing" to the end to make it sound more human.
The tremolo strings need to be more legato, too. They're too jerky, in my opinion.
Good suggestion, will implament that one.
Also, adjust the attack of the bass; the notes click at the beginning.