*NO* Chrono Trigger 'Dreaming of Schala'

Liontamer

NOTE: Encoding has been fixed.

ReMixer Name: Matt Maiorano

Game Remixed: Chrono Trigger

Song Remixed: Schala's Theme

This song was actually created back in 2004, but I never considered submitting it until now. I also never even played Chrono Trigger until I was a freshman in college. The game was an incredible experience for me, but when I first heard Schala's Theme I was hooked on the song itself. I had even created a separate save file on the emulator where I could hear this song and just listen to it. At that point in time, I had been dabbling in all kinds of trance and techno music and it wasn't until a year later that I actually attempted to remix the song. I took away the main melody, save for a few bits you can still hear with the strings, and focused on the chord structure giving it a more resonating and deeper tone. This allowed me to fit in a heavier beat and bass. Interestingly enough, the program I was using would only allow me to use loops that had already existed in the program itself, so I ended up taking each instrument's loop and broke it up into a single "hit" that I would play over and over again, changing the pitch every time. This allowed me to actually "compose" the music rather than "do absolutely nothing at all". The beats were a little easier, as there were no pitch shifts with the percussion. In the end, I'm very satisfied with my rendition of Schala's Theme, and I still consider it to be one of my greatest works.

---------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.snesmusic.org/spcsets/ct.rsn - "Sara's Theme" (ct-3-06.spc)

Glad to get a new version with the encoding bumped up. 80kbps/22kHz was no fun. The production on this one was a little too murky, IMO. Part of the problem with the production ending up so muddy was that the subtle parts were near-inaudible, such as the string pad at 1:09 that was arranging the source (1:18-1:21 was the direct connection).