Any synth recommendations?

I've been using Reason for 7 years now (although I still haven't got version 4 yet). I'm a keyboard player at heart so I'm looking for a workstation keyboard. I've always lusted after workstations, and now I've got a real job I'm gonna get myself one! I'm really thinking of the Yamaha Motif XS 8, which is super expensive so it'll take me a whole year of some serious saving up to get. Is there any other synths which you guys think I should also consider?

Ask yourself first if you really need a workstation.

The screen is smaller, it won't run any VST plugins, and you'll need a lot more button pushing to get things done. Sure, you can hook up a mouse. Now you have an older computer with a tiny screen. Yay!

The reason people buy those is because they usually have the best piano sounds.

Consider an S90ES; yes, it's a little bit older, but the keyboard's just as good, and it'll accept PLG plugin boards; also, it's got all the sounds (it's not just a digital piano).

Hey Malcos are looking strictly for hardware solutions?

If so the Roland V-Synth is another to check out. With the V-Synth you can add a $99 card that will allow to play the full Roland D-50 on it. It also has a ton of functionality as well.

Getting IK-Multimeda Sampletank 2.5 or Sonik Synth 2 are other options.

Native Instruments Komplete will give you an ENORMOUS amount of sounds to work with for a much lower price. Although some are CPU hungry like Massive, GuitarRig3 for starters. It would prob be best to demo a lot of NI stuff first before you shell out that huge amount of cash.

If you are looking for something that is just completely kick ass this might float your boat:

http://www.spectrasonics.net/omnisphere_teaser/

Are you looking at a workstation for it's functionality or its vast array of high quality sounds? You looking for sampled or synth sounds?